On October 6, 1999, the IDEA league was formed by the signing of a memorandum of understanding between four leading European universities of technology: Imperial College London (United Kingdom), Delft University of Technology(Netherlands), ETH Zürich (Switzerland), and RWTH Aachen University (Germany). In 2006, ParisTech (France) joined the collaboration. As of 2014, Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden) is a member of the IDEA League network. In 2016 University Politecnico di Milano (Italy) joined the IDEA League.

Imperial College London confirmed its decision to withdraw from the IDEA League with effect from December 2012. At the end of 2013, Paris Tech left the IDEA League because the university was restructuring in connection with the newly created Paris-Saclay campus.

IDEA League’s current members are listed below.


Delft University of Technology
Mekelweg 5, 2628 CD Delft
The Netherlands

ethLogoETH Zürich
Rämistrasse 101, 8092 Zürich

rwth_whiteRWTH Aachen
Templergraben 55, 52062 Aachen

ChalmersU_blackChalmers University of Technology
Maskingränd 2, 412 58 Göteborg

Logo_mil_polUniversity Politecnico di Milano
Piazza Leonardo da Vinci 32, 20133 Milano

Comments are closed