Student mobility and structure

In the 120-EC (European Credits) Joint Master’s programme the students study together at each university and move between universities as a group.

First term at TU Delft

You start your education on September 1 at TU Delft. To benefit fully from the joint Master’s programme, it may be necessary for you to review some appropriate convergence courses that are available online.

Second term at ETH Zurich

You have two weeks to move to Zürich where your education continues at ETH Zurich with courses on modelling, processing and inversion of geophysical and hydrological data. It is during this period that you design and execute their geophysical field work. The course work at ETH Zurich ceases at the end of June.

Third term at the RWTH Aachen University

After the summer break, you continue in early October your programme at RWTH Aachen University, where you are educated in petroleum and exploration geology, well-logging, NMR- and IP-methods and geothermics. In November, the Master’s Thesis topics will be presented, from which you can choose a project of your liking. Alternatively, you can propose your own project idea (requires approval of the Examination committee). The study period at Aachen ends by end of February.

Fourth Term: Master’s thesis

Subject to availability and an equitable distribution of active thesis projects amongst the three partner universities, every effort will be made to provide you with research themes that match your preferences and suit your knowledge, skills and experience. For most students, the 6-month thesis project will be performed at one of the three partner universities. Collaborative thesis projects may involve spending time at two of the partner universities. Some themes may involve extensive periods of closely supervised research in industry, government or other university laboratories.

Comments are closed.